Lee County

Auburn University of Auburn, Alabama submitted to ADEM an application for modification of its Post Closure permit for the solid waste management units which were used to manage hazardous waste at its facility (EPA I.D. Number ALD 000 826 958) located at Auburn University, 300 Leach Science Center, Auburn, AL 36849.  The Department has determined the facility’s modification application to be complete and has prepared a draft permit in accordance with State regulations.

Auburn University operates a facility that is a large land grant educational institution located in Auburn, Lee County, Alabama and serves Alabama through teaching, research, and various extension programs.  Students can choose from more than 140-degree options in 12 schools and colleges at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional levels.  The University was established in 1856 and has many activities related to solid and hazardous waste materials.  The University is comprised of approximately 1,800 acres of contiguous property.  Auburn University has over 400 academic and research laboratories.  The broad spectrum of chemicals used in these laboratories are the main source of the hazardous waste and comprise the major waste stream at the University.  Auburn University is the owner and operator of the facility.  This proposed permit modification includes the addition of groundwater monitoring wells for SWMU 2, SWMA 3, and AOC D.  SWMU 64 was moved from the table indicating that an investigation is required to the table indicating that no further action is required.  The AOC D site status table was updated to indicate the no further action status for Knapp Hall.  SWMA 2 CMI Plan has been incorporated by reference.  The permit application was changed to provide up to date SWMU information, and groundwater monitoring well data.  In addition, the proposed permit modification includes provisions that require any other solid waste management units and areas of concern at the facility to be addressed.

Copies of the fact sheet, permit modification application, SWMA 2 CMI Plan, and draft AHWMMA permit are available for public inspection electronically via and at the following location Monday – Friday (except legal holidays) during the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  A nominal fee for copying and/or mailing may be charged.  Arrangements for copying should be made in advance.

Russell A. Kelly, Chief
Permits and Services Division
1400 Coliseum Blvd.
[Mailing address: PO Box 301463; Zip 36130-1463]
Montgomery, Alabama 36110-2400
(334) 271-7714

Persons wishing to comment may do so, in writing, to the Department's named contact above within 45 days following the publication date of this notice.  In order to affect final decisions, comments must offer technically substantial information that is applicable to the proposed permit.

A written request for a public hearing may also be filed within that 45-day period and must state the nature of the issues proposed to be raised in the hearing.  The Director shall hold a public hearing upon receipt of a significant number of technical requests.

After consideration of all written comments, review of any public hearing record, and consideration of the requirements of the AHWMMA, the Federal Resource, Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) and applicable regulations, the Department will make a final determination.  The Department will develop a response to comments, which will become part of the public record and will be available to persons upon request.  Notice will be sent to any person requesting notice of the final action.

The Department maintains a list of interested individuals who are mailed legal notices regarding proposed permits.  If you wish to receive such notices, contact the Permits & Services Division via telephone (334-271-7714), e-mail (, or postal service (P.O. Box 301463, Montgomery, AL  36130-1463).

This notice is hereby given this 9th day of August, 2018, by authorization of the Alabama Department of Environmental Management.

Lance R. LeFleur

Nondiscrimination Statement:  The Department does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability in the administration of its programs.